Kirk Brae CC v Edinburgh South Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 29 May 2021 at 1pm
Edinburgh South Cricket Club Lost by 3 wickets

Match report Vipin lost the toss and Kirk Brae asked us us to bat on a damp pitch which frequently kept low although from time to time a a ball would leap up. We were in deep trouble at 5 for 4 after 6.5 overs but our fortunes were revived by a gutsy stand by Will and Vipin of 51 for the fourth wicket in 23.3 overs. Vipen and Virender then add 32 together for the sixth wicket in 5.3 overs before Vipin was unfortunately run out for 41. Some scurried runs by Farhan, Daniel and Dib took our total to 103 for 9 at the end of our forty overs.
We did not capture the necessary early wickets and 10.3 overs had been bowled before Kiran bowled the Badgers captain S. Khan with their score on 24. U. Tahir and G. Singh had added 54 in 12.2 overs before the second wicket fell when the latter was dismissed by a magnificant catch on the wide long on boundary by Kiran off Dean's off spin. KB 78 for 2 after 22.5 overs. This was the prologue to a nail biting finish. Only one run had been added when Virender took a good catch at point off Vipin and immediately after that Farhan made a return to the attack from the pavilion end from which he bowled a tight 5 over spell at the cost of 4 runs and claiming an l.b.w. victim. We took our fifth wicket in the next over when Vireder had the home opener, Umer Tahir, caught behind by Nab when he nicked one down the leg side and here, as a tense finish was looking likely, the batsman must be commended for his action in walking. The fourth and fifth wickets had both fallen on 88 and the next two fell with 99 on the board. For the first Vipin held a well judged catch off Kiran and this was soon followed by a tumbling catch by Douglas at deep mid off. This was our last success as KB crept to their winning target with one over remaining unbowled.

Edinburgh South Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
4nb 2w 5b 3lb 
for 9 wickets

(40.0 overs)
Dean Penrose b U Tahir 2 17 11.76
Nabkishore Pani lbw U Tahir 2 12 16.67 1
George O’Neill b G Singh 0 5 0
Will George b G Singh 18 82 2 21.95
Douglas Blood b G Singh 0 4 0 1
Vipin Gupta run out  (W Azeem) 41 83 6 49.40 1
Virender Pratap Singh ct S Khan b W Azeem 16 23 2 69.57 1
Kiran Sankaran b W Azeem 0 1 0 1
Farhan Sheikh b W Azeem 2 8 25.00
Daniel Saunders Not Out  3 3 100
Dibayendu Dey Not Out  5 5 100

Kirk Brae CC Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
G Singh8.02933.001.13
U Tahir8.0230215.003.75
K Shahzad6.02600.001.00
Zahid Rasool3.001500.005.00
T Khan7.012500.003.57
WA Azeem8.041133.671.38

Kirk Brae CC Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
15w 1b  
for 7 wickets
104 (39.0 overs)
U Tahir ct N Pani b V Singh 31
S Khan b K Sankaran 11
G Singh ct K Sankaran b D Penrose 29
K Shahzad ct V Singh b V Gupta 1
Basil Khan lbw F Sheikh 1
Waqar Azeem ct D Blood b D Saunders 2
K Blake ct D Dey b K Sankaran 8
Zahid Rasool Not Out  2
Faiz Rizwan Not Out  2
Taha Khan  
Jawad Ahmed  

Edinburgh South Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Farhan Sheikh8.0217117.002.13
Daniel Saunders7.02818.001.14
Kiran Sankaran7.0121210.503.00
Dibayendu Dey5.001500.003.00
Dean Penrose4.0024124.006.00
Vipin Gupta5.0112112.002.40
Virender Pratap Singh3.02616.002.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    B Polson